John Smith named America’s all-time wrestler

STILL WATER – Oklahoma State Wrestling Coach John smith won the title of greatest American wrestler of all time, according to FloWrestling.

Six-time world champion who won Olympic gold medals in 1988 and 1992, Smith’s accomplishments are second to none as he has won at all levels of wrestling. In short, Smith compiled a 105-5 record as a high school student at Del City High School in Del City, Oklahoma, before starting his college career in Oklahoma State. As a cowboy he racked up a 152-8 record which included a pair of NCAA Individual Championships in 1987 and 1988. He was selected three All-America in 1985, 1987 and 1988. On the Internationally, Smith rode to a career record of 100-5 which included his six consecutive world titles from 1987 to 1992, two Pan American Games gold (1987, 91) and two maid gold medals will (1986, 90).

His list of awards and honors received befits someone who has earned the distinction of being the best wrestler on the planet. Smith was honored as the first wrestler to claim the James. E. Sullivan as an outstanding American amateur athlete when he won the award in 1990. He was the first American ever to be chosen as master of technique and wrestler of the year by the International Wrestling Federation (FILA) in 1990 In 1992, he was awarded the World Amateur Athletic Foundation Trophy, becoming the first North American wrestler to earn that honor. Smith was also selected in 1991 as FILA Outstanding Wrestler of the Year after winning Man of the Year honors by Amateur Wrestling News in 1988, recognition of Athlete of the Year by USA Wrestling in 1989 and the honors of the sportsman of the year by the American Olympic committee in 1990..

The FloWrestling countdown to the 100 Greatest American Wrestlers of All Time, led by Smith, also included nine other former cowboy wrestlers, with Kenny Monday being the highest-ranked cowboy behind Smith at No.11.

Cowboys in the FloWrestling Top 100
1. John smith
11. Kenny Monday
36. Kendall’s Cross
59. Pat Smith
61. Jack Van Bebber
71. Doug Blubaugh
77. Fred Fozzard
86. Bobby Douglas
93. Daniel Cormier
99. Eric Guerrero

Robert J. King