Tournament culminates in junior Greco-Roman semi-finals and finals

New Jersey’s Tyler Sagi celebrates winning the Greco-Roman National Junior Quarterfinals. Photo by Ryan Cummings,

There remains one tournament in the USMC 16U and the Junior Nationals in Fargo, North Dakota. Five divisions of champions have been decided. Only junior Greco-Roman champions are yet to be determined.

WHAT ENDS: Junior Greco-Roman ends in the championship final at 12:30 p.m.

The action starts at 9 a.m. on Friday with semifinals, consolations and consolation semifinals.

The finals and classification matches start at 12:30 p.m. This is an earlier departure than the previous schedule.

Two returning champions qualified for the semi-finals. They are Q’veli Quintanilla from Washington at 145 and Wyatt Voelker from Iowa at 195. Voelker will wrestle for northern Iowa in the fall.

Four wrestlers who won the junior freestyle championships earlier in the week also found the semifinals. They are Tyler Garvin from Maryland at 100, Mack Mauger from Idaho at 106, Cory Land from Alabama at 132, Cody Chittum from Tennessee at 152 and Aden Attao from Idaho at 285. .

Mauger, Land and Attao are also eligible for the Triple Crown. To win a Triple Crown, a wrestler must win a National Freestyle, Folkstyle, and Greco-Roman Championship in the same year.

Six wrestlers who won a 16U Greco-Roman championship last summer also reached the semifinals. They are Layne Kleimann of Utah and Anthony Ruzic of Illinois at 113, Kael Lauridsen of Nebraska at 120, Pierson Manville of Pennsylvania at 138 and Sawyer Bartelt of Florida at 220.

Semi-final pairings:

Montana’s Isaac Stewart vs. California’s Nathaniel Granados
Maryland’s Tyler Garvin vs. Ohio’s Javaan Yarbrough

Jeremy Oani of California vs. Brayten Casey of Wisconsin
Louisiana’s Tyson Roach vs. Idaho’s Mack Mauger

Carter Nogle of Maryland vs. Layne Kleimann of Utah
Illinois’ Anthony Ruzic vs. Connecticut’s Michael Longo

Nebraska’s Kael Lauridsen vs. Minnesota’s Alan Koehler
Illinois’ Massey Odiotti vs. Tennessee’s Kenneth Hendriksen

Colorado’s Otto Black vs. Iowa’s Gable Porter
Arizona’s Derek Guanajuato vs. Colorado’s Brandon Cannon

Alabama’s Cory Land vs. Iowa’s Matthew Beem
Oregon’s Nash Singleton vs. Illinois’ Kannon Webster

Nebraska’s Keith Smith vs. Pennsylvania’s Pierson Manville
Alaska’s Colton Parduhn vs. Wisconsin’s Gunnar Hamre

Florida’s Brennan Van Hoecke vs. Washington’s Q’veli Quintanilla
Jaden New of Alabama vs. Jayden Colon of Illinois

Illinois’ Braden Stauffenberg vs. Colorado’s Patrick Brackett
Pennsylvania’s Dylan Evans vs. New Jersey’s Tyler Sagi

Idaho’s Jadon Skellenger vs. Georgia’s Jeremy Paradice
Tennessee’s Cody Chittum vs. Florida’s Brendon Abdon

Georgia’s Omaury Alvarez vs. Florida’s Christian Moder
Bradley Gillum of Illinois against Brayden Gautreau of Michigan

New York’s Michael Altomer vs. Georgia’s Matthew Waddell
Iowa’s Tate Naaktgeboren vs. Minnesota’s Ryder Rogotzke

Iowa’s Wyatt Voelker vs. Wisconsin’s Ian Smith
Oregon’s Robert Plympton vs. Missouri’s Jack Darrah

Wisconsin’s Max Ramberg vs Florida’s Sawyer Bartelt
Bronx Wood of Kansas vs. Ryan Stein of New York

Idaho’s Aden Attao vs. Florida’s Ethan Vergara
Oklahoma’s Hayden Simpson vs. Kansas’ Sebastian Lopez

Teams with the most semi-finalists (Top seven)
Florida — 5
Iowa and Wisconsin—4
Colorado, Georgia and Idaho — 3

9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Junior Greco-Roman: Session III – Semi-finals, Consolations and Consolation Semi-finals
12:30 p.m. — Junior Greco-Roman: Session IV — Finals, medal games and awards

Robert J. King